2008 was a year that didn’t do a great job in making itself hard to miss. Sure, we had some good times this year, but it was a little more stressful than it should have been.

But hey, the new year is upon us and I’m looking forward to feeling fine and doing well. Here’s my quick formula:

1. Ignore the media. Like any marketing spiel, almost all media now is designed to make you think or react in a desired way as opposed to providing you with relevant facts pertaining to current events. My way to deal with it is that it is all crap until proven otherwise.  Other than the Cranford Chronicle, I refuse to pay for anything other than my indirect payment through my FIOS bill. I’m done and most outlets deserve to go out of business. This will upset Paul Mulshine even more, but so be it.

2. Spend more time with friends. I like these people for a reason. They’re nice people. I enjoy hanging out with them and they boost my spirits. And we can do cheap stuff like hang out and drink Warsteiners in my sunroom and still have a great time.

3. Work on growing my business like nothing is wrong. Since people don’t need financing to do business with me, why should I worry about the credit markets? I don’t plan on building or doing any major capital expansion next year since I don’t have to.  I won’t make cuts unless I’m forced to, not because I’m worried about how things will be because people are telling me we’re going to hell in a handbasket. Some people will always tell you we’re going to hell in a handbasket. You choose to listen or take it with a grain of salt.

4. Drink more. Perfect companion activity to 1-3.

5. Fix my house. I can’t sell it, so I may as well paint it and hate it less.

6. Be at peace that we live in one of the most corrupt cesspools in American History (and that includes Boss Tweed, people).  That doesn’t mean tolerate or accept it, but it means that I will be less shocked and upset. (Maybe I’m past denial and anger and am in the “bargaining stage”?)

7. Wish all the Cranford folks and fellow New Jerseyans a Happy New Year and wishes for a healthy and prosperous 2009. Statistically, we’re due.

