In the 1990s, I lived for a short while in London. And I got very sick.

So I had to go to a doctor in the “private” system that my company referred me to…I still had to pay for it out of pocket and gotten a prescription for anti-biotics. The doctor was all right enough, but I thought of those who lived there in the UK, paid 11.5% of their salary and would have to wait for hours in the waiting room to the same exact thing.

With the coming nationalization of health care, it will likely be the same way here.  And in the stimulus bill that passed, the next steps toward nationalization are buried…yet discussed in this fine article.

The problem here is that while the UK tolerates a parallel private system, it doesn’t look like the US will. (Somebody correct me if I’m wrong.) If everyone’s medical records are electronic and in a single federal database,  then the feds know who is getting what treatment in the private sector, and knowing the feds, as they move towards greater and greater nationalization, they will whomp on doctors who don’t tow the line.

It’s the start of a not-very-encouraging road…and the result will be a black market for health care and the stifling of health care innovation.

