“we’re just a town with no self-esteem…”

(apologies to the Offspring)

What the hell? The other night I was at an event and I met someone who introduced himself as a life-long resident of Cranford.

The next sentence out of his mouth: “So the things that drive you nuts about Cranford are due to people like me.”

Okay, so it was a joke, but there’s a lot of truth to it.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to start a cheerleading essay on Cranford being the awesomest! But the lack of collective self-esteem percolates through. Often. It’s about whose fault our downtown stinks; it’s about whose fault it that the roads are a mess. It’s the flooding. The teachers. The taxes. The building permits. Any new development. The COAH lawsuits. I think there are some residents here who think this is hell on earth.

I don’t get it.

I guess people don’t notice how much some of the towns around us are complete trainwrecks. Broke, lotsa crime and very few options to get back on track.

Or that the state is a complete trainwreck. Companies often pack it in when they have  balance sheets like the state.

And the fact Cranford is not yet a complete trainwreck is something to behold.

So come on, lighten up, Cranford.

