Taking a break from digging out from the latest little storm….

I was thinking about when I was a kid in South Jersey and we’d have the radio on in the kitchen when KYW would list the numeric codes for each school district.

Ours was 556.

Invariably, the announcer would rattle off “…and more New Jersey closings…550, 551, 552, 553, 554, 555, 557, 558, 559….”.

And while we’d have to sit there for up to a half an hour waiting for them to get around to the New Jersey closings again, with the naive hope that they simply misspoke.

They never did. Those damn KYW news announcers.

So the system of every phone ringing in your house at 4AM with the automated school closing announcement has been a bit of an adjustment for us.

I am glad that they are making the call closer to school hours so that we avoid instances like the second snow day fiasco of a couple of weeks ago.

But I have an idea why everybody in my house is a little touchy today.

