Governor Christie has decreed 1970’s-style gas rationing to cut the lines at the stations.

http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2012/11/02/christie-shoreline-destruction-heartbreaking-for-every-new-jerseyan/

Residents with license plates ending in an odd number can make gas purchases on odd-numbered days of the month Residents with plates ending in an even number will be able to buy gas on even-numbered days, the governor said.

Specialized plates or those not displaying a number will be considered odd numbered plates, a release from the governor’s office stated.

The following counties are included in the gas rationing system: Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Morris, Monmouth, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren.

That’s us.

I’m looking forward to attendants getting the “yes, the last number on my plate is an 8, but the last character is my license plate is an M. Which is the 13th letter, therefore I can fill up on the third!” argument.

In the 70’s, plates almost always ended with a number (first three spaces letters, second three numbers). That changed in the 80’s where it was flipped and now it’s been a mish-mash for what I would guess is 20 years. I’m sure there is a blog page somewhere about it.

UPDATE: Toldja. http://www.15q.net/nj.html I wasn’t off by much.

Hang in there everybody.

