A year where I was nearly constantly distracted, I did not have much to say.

There are other places where people can complain about Birchwood, or the new Administrator, or Chief Mason, who looks like he has the same attitude towards retirement as Sheriff Frohelich, or about the waste and corruption in the county, or the not-going-so-well implementation of Obamacare, or the slow pace and insurance disputes for Hurricane Sandy cleanup.

I mostly worked this year. And I am grateful for that. I know there are a lot of people not fortunate enough to say the same.

Walking around the downtown, there are some plusses and minuses…Riverfront is a big behemoth of a development and will bring us our first Starbucks (where I will be rarely if ever seen). But there is also the closing of Rocking Horse toys and Dub’s Subs, which I never did get around to trying.

2013 was to me a sort of holding pattern kind of year. Good things did happen, but there was more than enough bad to offset it. It will not be particularly memorable, and it went by quickly. It was no 2012, 2010, 2007 or 2004, that’s for sure.

I hope 2014 is a good year for you, for me and for Cranford. I think we’re overdue for one.

Happy New Year.

