I have a question.

And sadly, since I didn’t attend the October 27th Raritan Valley Rail Coalition thingy, I didn’t get to ask it.

Some federal funding for the evening off-peak ride on Cranford’s NJ transit line has been rubber-stamped.

$910,000 in “congestion management” funds.

http://www.nj.com/traffic/index.ssf/2014/11/nj_transit_gets_closer_to_funding_for_evening_tran.html#incart_river

And my question: What was the hole in the NJTransit budget that prevented the additional one seat evening trains and required this extra cash?

  • The rolling stock was purchased…was this for covering the interest on the bonds to finance them?
  • Additional engineer and conductor overtime for the workers stuck in High Bridge at 11PM?
  • Printing a bunch of those little orange folio schedules?

I’d like to know. If you have a link in the comments, let me know.

