Lots of R.I.P’s lately.

If you read in the archives, you may deduce that I have next to no love for the Newark Star-Ledger.

From sports writers that make you question why they are employed (I’m lookin’ at you, Politi), articles swiped from other papers and retyped by interns, ludicrous editorials, and little coverage of anything in depth, it has not been surprising that it has been in a years-long tailspin.

And now the parent company, swirling the bowl with the SL, pulled the plug on the over 125 year-old Cranford Chronicle. May 29 was the last issue.

We were one of the dozens of subscribers that would take the 6 minutes per week to look through at the smattering of articles that were often repeated in the Suburban News. And the same ads week after week for same painters and power-washers.

Print is a dying medium. That’s undeniable. But gutting the content and making it meaningless hastens it. The renewal slip came last year and I still filled it out but I did ask myself ‘why should I bother? It barely has anything.’

But since 1888, we had something.

But Advanced Media made a choice to neglect it. Shriveling down to nothing in the process.

I am confident we will say the same thing about the Star-Ledger sooner than you think.

And no, I don’t feel badly about that. They’re doing it to themselves.

On the hopeful side, maybe it boosts Patch (http://patch.com/new-jersey/cranford), TAP (https://www.tapinto.net/towns/cranford), and the Westfield Leader. (http://www.goleader.com)

